Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Ayr High Students Recognised at Burdekin Shire Australia Day Awards Ceremony

​Caitlin Holmes, Brendan Kolb, Lauren Raitelli
​At the 2019 Burdekin Shire Australia Day Awards Ceremony, three Ayr High students received recognition for their contributions to the local community.  2018 graduate, Caitlin Holmes, was awarded Young Citizen of the Year.  Caitlin was heavily involved in many events with the Ayr High Interact committee in her role as Community Service Vice Captain.  She reignited community partnerships with the Ayr Rotary Club and helped organise and volunteered at many Interact events as well as community events such as the Norm Perry Duck Race.  Year 11 student, Sarah McDonnell, was also nominated for this award.
Brendan Kolb, current Year 12 student and 2019 Community Service Vice Captain, was awarded Junior Cultural Award. Brendan is a member of the Burdekin Singers and is greatly involved in the cultural department at school. He has performed in many drama festivals and school musicals.  Year 10 student, Lauren Raitelli received Junior Cultural Achievement Award for her efforts in the cultural department at Ayr High, in particular writing last year’s junior drama festival script as well as her involvement in the Burdekin Singers.